About – Nenagh Arts Centre


About Us

Nenagh Arts Centre CLG is a vibrant arts space, that presents an ambitious multi-disciplinary programme of events. We facilitate the creation of artistic activities that supports a wide range of participation thus enhancing individual and community wellbeing. We engage professional arts practitioners whose work is relevant and diverse and offer opportunities for artists to bring quality work to audiences and the chance to directly interact with our community.

Our Vision

Create cultural opportunities that engages our community.

Our Mission
  • Provide a varied programme of events and performances that are accessible to a wide and diverse audience in Nenagh and surrounding areas.
  • Develop a creative culture that puts children at the centre, supports the development of youth creativity and fosters an appreciation of our diverse culture.
  • Commission professional arts practitioners across artforms whose work is relevant and engaging and offer residency opportunities for artists to develop new work.
  • Engage with new and existing audiences through outreach programmes that promote creativity, encourage participation,  individual and community wellbeing and cultivates an entitlement to arts access.
History Nenagh Town Hall

The building was constructed in 1895 as a 3-bay building with fine round-headed doors and windows. It was designed by the then Town Engineer Robert Gill (grandfather of Tomás Mac Giolla TD and former Lord Mayor of Dublin). It housed Nenagh public library until the early 1980’s and was the home of Nenagh Town Council until 2005. The building was refurbished to include a 194 seater theatre and studios spaces available for local community groups. It was re-opened as Nenagh Arts Centre in 2010.

Board Members

Nenagh Arts Centre clg is a company limited by guarantee and not having a share capital.
The directors (September 2022) consist of:
Cllr. Fiona Bonfield (chairperson), Tom Moylan (treasurer), John Tooher (Secretary), Virginia O’Dowd, Suzanah O’Reilly, Melanie Scott (Tipperary County Council Arts Officer), Rosemary Joyce (Tipperary County Council), Cllr Joe Hannigan, Marcus O’Connor (Tipperary County Council), Mike Molamphy, Sean Crowley.
Secretary: John Tooher
Company number: 271919
Charity number: CHY12249

Contact Us

Nenagh Arts Centre,
Banba Square,
Co. Tipperary
E45 NX26
Phone: 067 34400
Email: artsadmin@nenagharts.com

Find Us On Social Media